MiM in USA is a 9 to 12-month degree for recent graduates with 0 to 3 years of work experience. Top MiM programs in USA include Kellogg (QS #7), Michigan Ross (QS #19), Duke Fuqua (QS #21), Indiana Kelley (QS #27), and Georgetown McDonough (QS #29). MiM in USA fees range from $45,472 (INR 43.12 Lakh) at Indiana Kelley to $76,300 (INR 72.36 Lakh) at Thunderbird. MiM in USA requirements include a bachelor's degree, GMAT or GRE (waived at several schools for high GPA), and TOEFL or IELTS. STEM MiM programs in USA at Kellogg, Duke, Georgetown, Boston University, and Maryland give Indian F-1 students 36 months of OPT (12 months + 24-month STEM extension) and 3 H-1B lottery attempts. MiM in USA salary averages $80,000 (INR 75.86 Lakh)/year at Kellogg and $89,813 (INR 85.17 Lakh)/year at Boston University.
Key facts at a glance:
Latest Updates
- Michigan Ross Round 2 closes October 23, 2026 — apply immediately.
- Kellogg Round 1 closes October 28, 2026 — apply in the next few days.
- Georgetown Round 1 closes November 13, 2026 and Boston University Round 2 closes November 24, 2026.
- Duke MMS Round 1 closed October 7, 2026 — next deadline is January 13, 2027.
- DHS proposed a $70,000 (INR 66.38 Lakh) initial OPT fee on October 8, 2026. Comments close November 9, 2026. This is not final yet.
- The $100,000 (INR 94.83 Lakh) H-1B fee was extended to September 21, 2027. It does not apply to in-US F-1 status changes.
As of October 2026, 1 USD = INR 94.83 (used throughout this article).

Top MiM programs in USA include Kellogg, Michigan Ross, Duke Fuqua, Indiana Kelley, Georgetown McDonough, Boston University Questrom, Texas A&M Mays, University of Florida Warrington, Maryland Smith, and Arizona State Thunderbird. Rankings are from the QS Business Master's Rankings 2027: Management, released September 16, 2026.
| University | Location | QS Management Ranking 2027 |
|---|---|---|
| Kellogg School of Management | Chicago, IL | #7 |
| Ross School of Business | Ann Arbor, MI | #19 |
| The Fuqua School of Business | Durham, NC | #21 |
| Kelley School of Business | Bloomington, IN | #27 |
| McDonough School of Business | Washington DC | #29 |
| Questrom School of Business | Boston, MA | #36 |
| Mays Business School | College Station, TX | #57 |
| Warrington College of Business | Gainesville, FL | #61 |
| Robert H. Smith School of Business | College Park, MD | #71 |
| Thunderbird School of Global Management | Phoenix, AZ | #72 |
Note: NC State ranks #69 in the same QS table. Its Master of Management is fully online and cannot issue F-1 visa papers — it is excluded. Thunderbird's MGM runs 18 to 24 months — compare it carefully against shorter programmes.
Student Insight
According to Reddit, Indian students consistently rate Georgetown McDonough as the best MiM for consulting and international organisation roles due to its Washington, DC location and STEM designation. According to Quora, Indian applicants highlight Texas A&M Mays and Florida Warrington as the most accessible top-ranked MiM options — no GMAT required and strong value for money.
Some of the top specializations for MiM in USA are Management Consulting, AI and Analytics, Corporate Finance, International Business, Entrepreneurship, Operations and Supply Chain, and Healthcare Management.
Which specialization suits Indian students best?
Student Insight
According to reddit, Indian MiM students at Georgetown report that the DC location gives unmatched access to consulting firms, international organisations, and government contractors. According to quora, Indian students at Boston University highlight the healthcare and biotech ecosystem as a major advantage for science and pharmacy graduates.
The general eligibility for MiM in USA requires a bachelor's degree and 0 to 3 years of work experience. GMAT or GRE is waived at several schools for high GPA. No work experience is required at any of the 10 programmes.
General Requirements
Documents Required
Student Insight
According to reddit, an Indian applicant with a UK finance degree and GMAT Focus 705 reported no Fall 2025 admits and planned to reapply to Kellogg, Georgetown, and Duke for Fall 2026. According to quora, Indian students recommend completing WES evaluation at least 8 weeks before the deadline — delays are common.
MiM in USA fees range from $45,472 (INR 43.12 Lakh) at Indiana Kelley to $76,300 (INR 72.36 Lakh) at Thunderbird for the full programme. Public schools (Indiana, Florida, Texas A&M) charge Indian students the out-of-state rate. Fall 2027 fees are expected to increase by 3 to 5%.
| University | Programme | Duration | Total Programme Fee (USD) | Total Programme Fee (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kellogg School of Management | Master in Management | 12 months | $71,724 | INR 68.02 Lakh |
| Ross School of Business | Master of Management | 10 months | $62,790 | INR 59.54 Lakh |
| The Fuqua School of Business | MMS: Foundations of Business | 10 months | $69,900 | INR 66.29 Lakh |
| Kelley School of Business | MS in Management | 12 months | $45,472 to 54,078 | INR 43.12 Lakh to INR 51.28 Lakh |
| McDonough School of Business | MS in Management | 10 months | $64,140 | INR 60.82 Lakh |
| Questrom School of Business | Master in Management | 12 months | $73,024 | INR 69.25 Lakh |
| Mays Business School | MS Business | 11 months | $58,800 | INR 55.76 Lakh |
| Warrington College of Business | MS in Management | 12 months | $46,377 | INR 43.98 Lakh |
| Robert H. Smith School of Business | MS in Management Studies | 12 months | $62,175 | INR 58.96 Lakh |
| Thunderbird School of Global Management | Master of Global Management | 18 to 24 months | $76,300 | INR 72.36 Lakh |
Note: Ross adds a $500 (INR 0.47 Lakh) International Student Services fee each term for F-1 students. Duke's total cost of attendance is $105,421 (INR 99.97 Lakh) — budget this full amount for your I-20 proof of funds. Thunderbird runs 18 to 24 months — compare it carefully against shorter programmes.
Student Insight
According to reddit, a Ross graduate reported landing a New York job near $70,000 (INR 66.38 Lakh). Others called these programmes costly with weak ROI for international students. According to quora, Indian students highlight Florida Warrington and Indiana Kelley as the strongest value options — both public schools with fees under $47,000 (INR 44.57 Lakh).
The monthly cost of living for Indian MiM students in the USA ranges from USD 1,400 (INR 1.33 lakh) in South Bend and College Station to USD 2,800 (INR 2.65 lakh) in Washington, DC, and Boston. These estimates are based on each university’s official cost of attendance budgets and exclude tuition fees.
| City | Universities | Living Budget (USD, full programme) | Living Budget (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chicago, IL | Kellogg | $27,327 (10 months) | INR 25.91 Lakh |
| Ann Arbor, MI | Michigan Ross | $36,678 (10 months) | INR 34.78 Lakh |
| Durham, NC | Duke Fuqua | $28,100 (10 months) | INR 26.65 Lakh |
| Washington DC | Georgetown McDonough | $30,468 (10 months) | INR 28.89 Lakh |
| Boston, MA | Boston University Questrom | $20,662 (9 months) | INR 19.59 Lakh |
| College Station, TX | Texas A&M Mays | $13,200 to 17,600 (11 months) | INR 12.52 Lakh to INR 16.69 Lakh |
| Gainesville, FL | Florida Warrington | $13,200 to 15,600 (12 months) | INR 12.52 Lakh to INR 14.80 Lakh |
| College Park, MD | Maryland Smith | $21,600 to 26,400 (12 months) | INR 20.48 Lakh to INR 25.04 Lakh |
| Phoenix, AZ | Thunderbird | $21,600 to 28,800 (18 months) | INR 20.48 Lakh to INR 27.31 Lakh |
Key points:
Student Insight
According to reddit, Indian MiM students at Texas A&M report total monthly costs as low as $1,200 by sharing off-campus apartments. According to quora, Indian students at Georgetown note that Washington DC's high cost of living is offset by strong consulting internship stipends during the programme.
Scholarships for MiM in USA include school merit awards and Indian loan scholarships from JN Tata, KC Mahindra, and Narotam Sekhsaria. Georgetown reports scholarships for 78% of MiM students, averaging $10,927 (INR 10.36 Lakh). Kellogg, Duke, Georgetown, and Boston University consider every admitted student for merit aid automatically.
| Scholarship | Awarded By | Reward (USD) | Reward (INR) | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Georgetown MiM Merit Awards | McDonough School of Business | Avg $10,927 per student | Avg INR 10.36 Lakh | Automatic review at admission; 78% of students receive an award |
| Ross MM Scholarships | Ross School of Business | $5,000 to 15,000/year | INR 4.74 Lakh to INR 14.22 Lakh | Merit and need-based; apply in Round 1 or 2 |
| Kellogg Merit and Need-Based Scholarships | Kellogg School of Management | Varies; up to partial tuition | Varies | Automatic consideration at admission |
| Duke Fuqua Merit Scholarship | The Fuqua School of Business | Varies | Varies | Automatic consideration for all admitted applicants; apply early |
| Boston University Merit Scholarships | Questrom School of Business | $20,000 to 35,000 | INR 18.97 Lakh to INR 33.19 Lakh | Automatic consideration at admission |
| Florida Warrington Merit Awards | Warrington College of Business | $500 to 5,000 | INR 0.47 Lakh to INR 4.74 Lakh | Merit awards only for international students |
| JN Tata Endowment Loan Scholarship | JN Tata Endowment | Up to INR 20 Lakh | Up to INR 20 Lakh | Indian citizens; postgrad or PhD abroad; 2027 dates not yet published |
| KC Mahindra Scholarship | KC Mahindra Education Trust | Interest-free loan up to INR 10 Lakh | Up to INR 10 Lakh | Indian citizens; 2027 dates not yet published |
| Narotam Sekhsaria Scholarship | Narotam Sekhsaria Foundation | Interest-free loan; covers management | Varies | Indian citizens; 2027 dates not yet published |
Key points:
Student Insight
According to reddit, a Duke MMS student said most international merit awards were small — typically $5,000 to $15,000 (INR 4.74 Lakh to INR 14.22 Lakh). According to quora, Indian students recommend stacking JN Tata or KC Mahindra loan scholarships with university merit awards to reduce net cost.
STEM MiM programs in USA at Kellogg, Duke, Georgetown, Boston University, and Maryland give Indian F-1 students 36 months of OPT — 12 months standard plus a 24-month STEM extension. Michigan Ross and Indiana Kelley are not STEM-designated — their graduates get only 12 months of OPT.
| University | STEM Designated | OPT Duration |
|---|---|---|
| Kellogg School of Management | Yes | 36 months |
| The Fuqua School of Business | Yes | 36 months |
| McDonough School of Business | Yes | 36 months |
| Questrom School of Business | Yes | 36 months |
| Robert H. Smith School of Business | Yes | 36 months |
| Thunderbird (select concentrations) | Yes (select concentrations) | 36 months |
| Ross School of Business | No | 12 months only |
| Kelley School of Business | No | 12 months only |
| Mays Business School | Not confirmed — verify with admissions | Verify before applying |
| Warrington College of Business | Not confirmed — verify with admissions | Verify before applying |
Key OPT and visa facts for Indian students:
Student Insight
According to reddit, one commenter corrected an Indian applicant — the degree's STEM designation, not the undergraduate subject, decides 3-year OPT eligibility. According to quora, Indian students strongly recommend choosing a STEM-designated MiM over a non-STEM one — the difference of 24 extra months of OPT is critical for H-1B lottery odds.
Jobs after MiM in the USA are concentrated in consulting, financial services, and technology, with recruiters such as Deloitte, McKinsey, JPMorgan Chase, and Amazon. MiM salaries in the USA range from USD 73,878 (INR 70.06 lakh) per year at the University of Rochester’s Simon Business School to USD 89,813 (INR 85.17 lakh) per year at Boston University. However, international graduates may face lower placement rates. At Duke University, 66% of international graduates secured placements, compared with 76% overall.
| University | Placed Within 6 Months | Reported Salary (USD) | Reported Salary (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kellogg School of Management | 85% accepted jobs or internships | $80,000 median first-year pay | INR 75.86 Lakh |
| Ross School of Business | 83% received offers | $73,878 mean base | INR 70.06 Lakh |
| The Fuqua School of Business | 66% of international graduates (76% overall) | $75,000 median base (international) | INR 71.12 Lakh |
| McDonough School of Business | 97% received offers | $74,187 average (international) | INR 70.35 Lakh |
| Questrom School of Business | 91% accepted offers | $89,813 average total pay (US) | INR 85.17 Lakh |
| Warrington College of Business | Not published | $78,750 average | INR 74.68 Lakh |
Key points:
Student Insight
According to reddit, a commenter on an Indian study-abroad forum said in August 2026 that US jobs are harder to find now — even Ivy League friends struggled, with some taking lesser roles or returning home. According to quora, Indian MiM graduates from Georgetown report strong consulting placement at Deloitte, McKinsey, and Booz Allen Hamilton due to the DC location.
Indian students in October 2026 must act immediately. Ross Round 2 closes October 23, 2026 and Kellogg Round 1 closes October 28, 2026. Most schools require applicants needing an F-1 visa to apply by January 2027.
| University | Upcoming Deadlines | Last Round for Visa Applicants | Programme Start |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kellogg School of Management | October 28, 2026; January 13, 2027 | January 13, 2027 | September 2027 |
| Ross School of Business | October 23, 2026; January 4, 2027 | January 4, 2027 | June 2027 |
| The Fuqua School of Business | January 13, 2027; March 4, 2027 | January 13, 2027 (advised) | Summer 2027 |
| Kelley School of Business | Not yet published for 2027 | Not yet published | Summer 2027 |
| McDonough School of Business | November 13, 2026; January 15, 2027; March 12, 2027 | Rolling until June 25, 2027 | August 2027 |
| Questrom School of Business | November 24, 2026; January 13, 2027; February 23, 2027 | Not specified | Fall 2027 |
| Mays Business School | Not yet published for 2027 | Not yet published | Summer 2027 |
| Warrington College of Business | January 15, 2027 (international) | January 15, 2027 | August 2027 |
| Robert H. Smith School of Business | March 12, 2027 (international) | March 12, 2027 | Fall 2027 |
| Thunderbird School of Global Management | October 30, 2026 (early consideration) | Not published | August or January intake |
Step-by-step action plan (October 2026 to September 2027):
Student Insight
According to reddit, Indian students recommend applying to 4 to 6 programmes simultaneously to maximise chances given the competitive Indian applicant pool. According to quora, Indian applicants note that WES evaluation delays are the most common reason for missing deadlines — start the process immediately.
Check Out: How to Apply to US Universities as an Indian Student
For Indian students in October 2026 targeting Fall/Summer 2027, act immediately. Ross Round 2 closes October 23, 2026 and Kellogg Round 1 closes October 28, 2026. Choose STEM-designated programmes — Kellogg, Duke, Georgetown, Boston University, and Maryland — for 36 months of OPT and 3 H-1B lottery attempts. Track the DHS OPT fee proposal before accepting any offer in 2027. Budget the full cost of attendance for your I-20 — $105,421 (INR 99.97 Lakh) at Duke.
Ques. Is MiM in USA worth it for Indian students?
Ans. It can be, if you want a fast US credential and STEM work rights. Kellogg, Duke, Georgetown, Boston University, and Maryland offer up to 36 months of OPT. Tuition runs $45,472 to $76,300 (INR 43.12 Lakh to INR 72.36 Lakh). Placement within six months ranges from 83% at Ross to 97% at Georgetown. However, international graduates often trail the class average — Duke reports 66% placement for them against 76% overall. A proposed $70,000 (INR 66.38 Lakh) OPT fee could raise costs if it becomes final. Compare a US MiM with a later MBA if you already have work experience.
Ques. Which MiM programs in USA are STEM-designated?
Ans. Among the top 10, Kellogg, Duke, Georgetown, Boston University, and Maryland are STEM-designated. Thunderbird offers STEM-certified MGM concentrations. Their graduates can use 12 months of OPT plus a 24-month STEM extension = 36 months total. Michigan Ross and Indiana Kelley are not STEM-designated — their graduates get 12 months of OPT only. Texas A&M and Florida do not confirm STEM designation on their programme pages — ask admissions for the CIP code before paying a deposit.
Ques. Can I do MiM in USA with a 3-year Indian degree?
Ans. Yes, at some schools. Ross accepts most 3-year degrees that equal a 4-year US bachelor's — it requires a WES or ECE course-by-course evaluation. Duke also accepts 3-year degrees equivalent to a US bachelor's. Indiana Kelley does not accept 3-year degrees — it asks such applicants to complete a year of postgraduate study first. Georgetown requires a four-year degree or foreign equivalent. Kellogg does not state a rule — email admissions before applying.
Ques. Can I do MiM in USA without GMAT?
Ans. Yes. Boston University, Texas A&M, Florida, and Maryland do not require GMAT or GRE. Other schools waive the test above a GPA cutoff. Kellogg waives it at GPA 3.4, Ross at 3.30, and Georgetown at 3.2. Duke considers waiver requests at 3.4 with quantitative coursework. Indian percentages must be converted via WES before applying for a waiver. Book a November 2026 GMAT slot if your GPA does not meet the waiver threshold.
Ques. What is the MiM in USA salary for Indian students?
Ans. MiM in USA salary ranges from $73,878 (INR 70.06 Lakh)/year at Ross to $89,813 (INR 85.17 Lakh)/year at Boston University. Kellogg reports a median first-year pay of $80,000 (INR 75.86 Lakh). Georgetown international graduates averaged $74,187 (INR 70.35 Lakh). Top employers include Deloitte, McKinsey, PwC, JPMorgan Chase, and Amazon.
Ques. What are the MiM in USA fees for Indian students?
Ans. Total programme fees range from $45,472 (INR 43.12 Lakh) at Indiana Kelley to $76,300 (INR 72.36 Lakh) at Thunderbird. Adding living expenses, total cost of attendance reaches $105,421 (INR 99.97 Lakh) at Duke. Public schools (Indiana, Florida, Texas A&M) charge Indian students the out-of-state rate.
Ques. Can a Tier-2 or Tier-3 college graduate get into a top MiM in USA?
Ans. Yes. US schools do not restrict admission by the tier of your college. Kellogg's Class of 2026 came from 66 undergraduate institutions and 43 majors. Kellogg sets no minimum GPA. At Duke, the middle 80% of the Class of 2027 scored 525 to 695 on GMAT Focus. A strong test score can offset a lesser-known college. Get a WES evaluation early — schools read converted grades. Apply by the January 2027 rounds, since most later rounds close to visa applicants.
Ques. When should Indian students apply for MiM in USA for Fall 2027?
Ans. Act immediately. Ross Round 2 closes October 23, 2026. Kellogg Round 1 closes October 28, 2026. Georgetown Round 1 closes November 13, 2026. Apply to 4 to 6 programmes simultaneously. Complete WES evaluation immediately — allow 6 to 8 weeks for processing. Book a November 2026 GMAT or IELTS slot for January 2027 rounds.