MBA Sustainable Innovation at UVic: Fees 2026 Dates & Requirements

MBA Sustainable Innovation at UVic: Fees 2026 Dates & Requirements

Victoria, British ColumbiaLocation
UniversitySchool type
Estd1963established year
21923enrollment
Public
Partner [10 Courses]
8.3/10

Master of Business Administration [MBA] (Sustainable Innovation)

24 months
Full Time
On Campus

Field of Study: 

Ranked #451 out of 550 by QS Global Ranking 2026

$16,981 /Yr

CA$24,258 /Yr
Study Abroad Team's profile photo

Study Abroad Team

Updated on - Aug 14, 2026

University of Victoria Master of Business Administration (MBA) in Sustainable Innovation is a 24-month, full-time programme delivered on campus one weekend per month in Victoria, British Columbia. September 2027 tuition is unpublished; May 2026 effective rates imply C$48,516 (INR 33.17 Lakhs), as a prior-cycle reference. Admission expects a four-year bachelor’s degree, 60% or 7/10 Indian equivalent and at least five years of full-time work experience.

The MBA integrates sustainability with finance, strategy and organisational decision-making through case studies, simulations, applied projects and a capstone consulting project. It suits experienced professionals seeking a sustainability-focused career pivot, but the required one-week learning trip adds C$6,000 (INR 4.10 Lakhs) and a travel commitment.

  • All MBA courses include sustainability content, so the theme is embedded across the curriculum rather than confined to an elective.
  • An optional co-op work term can add Canadian work experience or support an industry change.
  • Applicants do not need to secure a research supervisor because the MBA is course-based and industry-focused.

Current Admission Status

Applications for the September 2027 intake are Open. International student deadline: 30 April 2027.

The deadline is published for September entry, and the page does not state a time-of-day cutoff. Indian applicants should submit before 30 April and confirm the portal timezone if the application system displays one.

Also Check: University of Victoria MBA Admission

University of Victoria MBA Fees and Living Costs 2027

September 2027 tuition is unpublished. The current official estimator uses rates effective 1 May 2026, so the figures below are prior-cycle references rather than confirmed 2027 charges.

May 2026 effective rates are shown for the six-term programme because the current MBA page identifies six academic terms and the estimator excludes housing, food, books and other expenses.

Fee itemCADINR equivalent
International fee installment, two terms (current rate)C$14,476INR 9.90 Lakhs
MBA program fee, two terms (current rate)C$1,696INR 1.16 Lakhs
Six-term tuition and programme fees (calculated prior-cycle reference)C$48,516INR 33.17 Lakhs
Required experiential learning trip (current published fee)C$6,000INR 4.10 Lakhs
International application fee for documents outside Canada (current published fee)C$183INR 12,513

All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of CAD 1 = INR 68.3793 as of 13 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.

Source: University of Victoria tuition estimator, MBA programme page and MBA programme-features page, checked 13 August 2026.

Because the estimator says its values are estimates and excludes housing, food, books and other expenses, the table cannot be treated as a fixed 2027 invoice. Verify the target fee on the official tuition fee estimator after the programme updates its rate.

  • The six-term figure is calculated as three two-term periods, so it is a planning reference rather than a published September 2027 total.
  • The required trip adds C$6,000 (INR 4.10 Lakhs) outside the tuition estimate, making travel funding a separate budget line.
  • The current application fee for documents originating outside Canada is C$183 (INR 12,513), payable before the file is processed.

Cost of Living in Victoria for MBA Students

Victoria’s cached planning estimate is C$2,058 to C$2,891 per month (INR 1.41 Lakhs to INR 1.98 Lakhs). This remains separate from the study-permit maintenance figure in Section 7.

ExpenseMonthly CADMonthly INRAnnual CADAnnual INR
Victoria living-cost planning estimateC$2,058 to C$2,891INR 1.41 Lakhs to INR 1.98 LakhsC$24,696 to C$34,692INR 16.89 Lakhs to INR 23.72 Lakhs

For a prior-cycle planning illustration, combine C$48,516 (INR 33.17 Lakhs) in tuition and programme fees with C$6,000 (INR 4.10 Lakhs) for the trip.

Twenty-four months of living costs total C$49,392 to C$69,384 (INR 33.77 Lakhs to INR 47.44 Lakhs). Tuition, the trip and living costs therefore produce C$103,908 to C$123,900 (INR 71.05 Lakhs to INR 84.72 Lakhs).

Adding the current C$183 application fee (INR 12,513), C$150 study permit fee (INR 10,257) and C$85 biometrics fee (INR 5,812) increases the range. The result is C$104,326 to C$124,318 (INR 71.34 Lakhs to INR 85.01 Lakhs).

The calculated prior-cycle all-in planning budget excludes books, university ancillary fees, airfare and personal costs, so it tests funding capacity rather than states an official total.

Read More: University of Victoria course listings

ROI reality: The tuition cycle is not yet published. The six-term reference plus trip and living costs reach C$103,908 to C$123,900 (INR 71.05 Lakhs to INR 84.72 Lakhs). Confirm 2027 rates and reserve separate travel funding before accepting an offer.

University of Victoria MBA Admission 2027

The MBA has one published intake in September, with the current international deadline listed as 30 April for September entry. The programme is designed for experienced professionals, so work history is a core admission factor alongside academic preparation.

UVic reviews education, work and life experience holistically and states that meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee admission. Indian applicants should therefore make their leadership evidence and sustainability rationale consistent across every submitted document.

September 2027 entry uses the following current minimums and programme-specific conditions, with the Indian country guide providing the relevant grade reference.

RequirementUniversity standardIndian applicant meaning
Academic credentialFour-year bachelor’s degree or equivalent from an institution recognised by UVicUVic’s India guide lists a bachelor’s degree of at least four years, or a master’s degree, for graduate admission
Academic averageMinimum B average over the last two years of the degreeUVic’s India guide lists 1st class, 60% or 7/10 as the country-level minimum guide
Professional experienceMinimum five years of full-time work experienceShow month and year, full-time status, responsibility and measurable impact for every relevant role
Degree exceptionApplicants without an undergraduate degree may be considered with more than 15 years of professional experienceContact the MBA office before relying on this non-standard route
Similar master’s degreeAdmission may not be available when an applicant already holds a similar master’s degreeAsk the programme team for a written assessment before submitting an application

The five-year threshold makes this a mid-career MBA rather than a first management qualification. Applicants with project, operations, policy or sustainability responsibility should connect those experiences to the programme’s capstone and applied decision-making model.

English Language Proficiency for University of Victoria MBA

IELTS means International English Language Testing System, TOEFL iBT means Test of English as a Foreign Language internet-based test and PTE means Pearson Test of English. The table retains UVic’s published scales, including separate TOEFL rules before and after 21 January 2026.

TestMinimum requirement
IELTS Academic6.5 overall with no section below 6.0
TOEFL iBT taken after 21 January 20264.5 overall with no section below 4.0
TOEFL iBT taken before 21 January 202690 overall with no section below 20
PTE (Pearson Test of English)65 overall with no skill below 60
CAEL (Canadian Academic English Language Assessment)70 with no component below 60
Cambridge C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency180 with no component below 170
MET (Michigan English Test)64 with no section below 60

GMAT means Graduate Management Admission Test, GRE means Graduate Record Examinations and EA means Executive Assessment. The MBA page publishes no minimum score, so the need for a test is decided after reviewing experience and credentials.

  • Schedule IELTS Academic or another accepted test early because UVic does not accept scores more than two years old.
  • Do not self-convert TOEFL scores because UVic publishes separate policies for tests taken before and after 21 January 2026.
  • Ask for an informal pre-assessment when your experience or credentials may change whether GMAT, GRE or EA is required.

Test policy check

The current MBA programme requirements page says GMAT, GRE or EA may be required based on experience and credentials. UVic’s generic document-submission page says GMAT is required by the Faculty of Business, so request written confirmation before paying for a test.

Honest take: The five-year experience rule makes this a mid-career MBA, so Indian applicants should lead with measurable work impact and sustainability examples before polishing test scores.

University of Victoria MBA Application 2027

Applications for September 2027 are open through the programme’s current admissions route, and the international deadline is 30 April 2027. UVic publishes no programme-specific decision date or interview round, so submit a complete file before the deadline.

September 2027 has one published international deadline, and the official programme page does not state a time-of-day cutoff. The portal controls the final timestamp, so upload documents and confirm references well before 30 April 2027.

StagePublished requirementApplicant action
Programme applicationInternational deadline: 30 April 2027Submit the complete application and verify that references and documents are received

The single deadline means applicants cannot rely on a later published round for missing materials. Treat the date as the point by which the application, references, video link and academic records must be ready.

Documents that Shape the Decision

The application is evaluated through evidence of career direction, professional impact and sustainable innovation potential. Prepare the following documents as one consistent narrative rather than as separate statements.

  • Submit a résumé or curriculum vitae with dates, employment status and responsibility for ongoing, internship, co-op, community or volunteer work.
  • Use the 500 to 700 word career roadmap to connect career goals with achievements, sustainability interests and the MBA’s applied format.
  • Record a three-minute sustainable innovation video and place its unlisted link in a PDF so the review team can access it.
  • Provide two academic or professional assessment reports with accurate referee names and email addresses for the automatic request process.

Indian applicants must arrange official semester-wise statements of marks for every year and the degree certificate directly from the issuing institution. UVic says affiliated-college records, consolidated records when semester-wise records exist and World Education Services (WES) or International Credential Evaluation Service (ICES) reports are not accepted substitutes.

The current application fee for documents originating outside Canada is C$183 (INR 12,513), and processing begins after payment. Because referees receive automated requests, ask them early and monitor the portal rather than waiting for a final upload check.

The strongest file will show one evidence trail from prior responsibility to the proposed career direction. A sustainability example should therefore appear in the résumé, roadmap and video with different evidence rather than repeated claims.

Application tip: Build the résumé, 500 to 700 word roadmap and reference list before recording the video, then verify every portal item before the 30 April 2027 international deadline.

University of Victoria MBA Scholarships 2027

University of Victoria publishes three named awards connected to sustainable innovation, entrepreneurship or business need, plus a broader fellowship route. Their award pages are current published funding information, but most do not name the September 2027 cycle, so do not treat an award as confirmed until the department verifies timing.

The Georgi Ignatov award is the clearest international-specific route because it names students entering the MBA in Sustainable Innovation. Other awards carry narrower academic, citizenship or business-plan conditions that change who should invest time in the application.

Current published award details are summarised below; deadlines retain the wording of each official award page.

AwardValue (CAD)Value (INR)Eligibility and routeDeadline
Georgi Ignatov MBA in Sustainable Innovation ScholarshipC$5,000INR 3.42 LakhsTwo awards for academically outstanding international students entering the MBA in Sustainable Innovation, with entrepreneurship and financial need preferences; nomination routeSee department
Dr. Ian Stuart MBA Scholarship in Sustainable InnovationAt least C$1,350INR 92,312Engineering or Applied Mathematics degree, interest in sustainable operations and financial need, with Canadian citizen preference; apply to Dean’s Office31 July, cycle not specified
Jane Zhu Entrepreneurship ScholarshipAt least C$10,000INR 6.84 LakhsMBA or Master of Global Business student planning a business with a strong plan; no application required and nominations are usedNot stated on award page
University of Victoria FellowshipUp to C$20,000 per yearUp to INR 13.68 Lakhs per yearMost graduate programmes consider applicants with high academic standing automatically, while departments decide awardsProgramme route

Source: University of Victoria award pages and graduate funding page, checked 13 August 2026.

The Georgi Ignatov scholarship best matches an international applicant with strong academic evidence, entrepreneurial intent or documented need, although its department deadline is not published. The Ian Stuart award has a narrower academic route, while the Jane Zhu award requires a credible venture plan rather than general sustainability interest.

  • Ask the MBA department whether the Georgi Ignatov nomination process applies to September 2027 before relying on its C$5,000 (INR 3.42 Lakhs) value.
  • Prepare sustainable-operations evidence and verify the July 31 cycle for the Ian Stuart award if your degree matches its discipline condition.
  • Build a detailed business plan before pursuing the Jane Zhu award because its entrepreneurship condition is more specific than general MBA funding.

Funding is not automatically deducted from the fee estimate, and the award pages do not establish a guaranteed net tuition. Keep the full prior-cycle planning budget available until a written award notice states the amount and payment timing.

Check Out: University of Victoria scholarship options

Funding limitation

The published awards differ in nationality, degree and nomination conditions, and their pages do not collectively confirm September 2027 availability. Request the department’s cycle-specific deadline and award terms before reducing your funding plan.

Scholarship reality: The international Georgi Ignatov award is the closest fit, but its value and timing do not replace full-fee planning. Wait for the MBA department to confirm September 2027 terms.

University of Victoria MBA Salary 2027

The latest official MBA employment report records 83% employment three months after graduation for the 2024 to 2025 cohort and 81% for 2023 to 2024. These are Gustavson School of Business MBA figures, not a Sustainable Innovation cohort salary or offer rate, so they provide school-level context rather than a placement promise.

No course-specific salary report is published on the checked programme and school pages. The available evidence therefore separates MBA employment outcomes from an external British Columbia wage benchmark.

The latest official MBA employment measures are school-level results rather than outcomes for this exact study option.

Evidence scopePublished cohortMeasureResult
School-level MBA outcome2024 to 2025Employed three months after graduation83%
School-level MBA outcome2023 to 2024Employed three months after graduation81%

The report does not publish a Sustainable Innovation-only salary, offer rate, sector mix or employer list. Use the 83% figure to ask the school how the measure includes this option, rather than treating it as your individual employment probability.

External Salary Benchmark for British Columbia

Canada’s Job Bank reports a British Columbia wage range for management and business management consultants using a 2023 to 2024 reference period. This is an external labour-market benchmark, not a University of Victoria graduate salary.

Wage pointCAD per hourINR per hour
LowC$29.25INR 2,000
MedianC$47.00INR 3,214
HighC$73.85INR 5,050

The benchmark can help applicants test a Canadian role hypothesis, but occupation, location, experience and work authorisation affect the result. It cannot establish a starting salary or prove that the programme pays for itself.

Source: Gustavson School of Business MBA employment outcomes and Canada Job Bank management-consultant wage data, checked 13 August 2026.

ROI for the Sustainable Innovation MBA

The prior-cycle planning range is C$104,326 to C$124,318 (INR 71.34 to INR 85.01 Lakhs). It includes referenced tuition, the required trip, cached living costs and selected application and visa charges, while no course-specific salary supports a payback calculation.

  • The C$104,326 to C$124,318 range (INR 71.34 to INR 85.01 Lakhs) is a prior-cycle illustration, so request the September 2027 fee before signing a loan.
  • The 83% school-level MBA employment result can inform questions about career services, but request the exact Sustainable Innovation outcome scope before assigning it repayment value.
  • Use the external C$47.00 median wage (INR 3,214 per hour) as a British Columbia benchmark, then compare it with roles matching your experience.
  • The required C$6,000 trip (INR 4.10 Lakhs) is a separate funding need, so reserve it before treating tuition or scholarship money as sufficient.
  • An India-return plan cannot use the British Columbia benchmark as expected salary, so model repayment against verified India opportunities before borrowing.

Official MBA stories show individual movement into sustainability, strategy and impact roles, including a 2024 graduate’s promotion and 2023 graduates’ career changes. Those cases demonstrate possible pathways, not typical outcomes, so test your own route against experience, work authorisation and sector demand.

Gross hourly wages do not show take-home pay because tax, province, benefits and working hours change the result. Use the Canada Revenue Agency payroll calculator for a personal estimate after identifying a real role and location.

ROI reality: The school reports 83% MBA employment at three months, but no Sustainable Innovation salary is published. Request programme-specific outcomes and the 2027 fee before treating the Canadian wage benchmark as repayment evidence.

Canada Visa for University of Victoria MBA Students 2027

A Canadian study permit costs C$150 (INR 10,257), and biometrics costs C$85 (INR 5,812). For applications made on or after 1 September 2025 outside Quebec, one student needs C$22,895 per year (INR 15.66 Lakhs) for financial support, excluding tuition and transportation. That government amount is separate from Victoria’s C$2,058 to C$2,891 monthly living estimate, so keep both figures in the funding plan.

  • A 24-month master’s graduate may qualify for a Post-Graduation Work Permit lasting up to three years, subject to current post-graduation work permit rules.
  • The Canadian Experience Class requires 12 months or 1,560 hours of legal paid skilled work in Training, Education, Experience and Responsibilities categories 0 to 3.
  • A spouse or common-law partner may qualify for an open work permit when the student’s master’s programme lasts at least 16 months, subject to current conditions.

Post-study work permission is not the same as permanent residence, and the Canadian Experience Class has no universal salary floor. The 24-month programme length supports a work-permit assessment, but it does not guarantee a permit, employment or settlement.

Check Out: Canada study and visa planning

Visa reality: The permit maintenance amount excludes tuition, while the programme’s two-year format may support a work-permit route. Keep eligibility conditional and budget C$22,895 (INR 15.66 Lakhs) separately.

University of Victoria MBA Ranking 2027

The MBA has a programme-specific sustainability ranking: the 2025 Corporate Knights Better World MBA index places it #1 in Canada and #9 globally. The ranking is relevant to applicants assessing the programme’s sustainability proposition, but it does not replace fee, employment or immigration evidence.

The published position covers MBA programmes and should not be read as a course-specific salary signal. Use it alongside the curriculum, required experiential trip and school-level employment data when testing fit.

RankingEditionPositionScope
Corporate Knights Better World MBA index2025#1 in Canada; #9 globallyMBA programmes

Source: Gustavson School of Business rankings and reputation page, checked 13 August 2026.

Read More: University of Victoria MBA rankings

Key insight: The #1 Canadian sustainability position supports the programme’s academic proposition, but applicants should still verify 2027 fees and course-specific outcomes before making a funding decision.

The University of Victoria MBA in Sustainable Innovation fits experienced Indian professionals who want to connect business leadership with sustainability, applied projects and a Canadian career pivot. Its one-week trip, one-weekend-per-month format and unpublished 2027 tuition create a material funding and logistics tradeoff. The current school-level 83% three-month MBA employment result offers context but no course-specific salary guarantee, so request the 2027 fee and outcome scope before borrowing. Begin by preparing references and the 500 to 700 word career roadmap before the 30 April 2027 deadline.

University of Victoria MBA Sustainable Innovation FAQs

Ques. Is University of Victoria MBA Sustainable Innovation suitable for working professionals?

Ans. It is designed for experienced professionals because admission requires at least five years of full-time work experience. The monthly weekend format supports continued employment, but the 24-month on-campus commitment still requires careful scheduling.

Ques. Should Indian applicants take GMAT, GRE or Executive Assessment before applying?

Ans. The MBA page says one of these tests may be required after reviewing experience and credentials, while a generic UVic page states a broader Faculty of Business requirement. Request written confirmation from the programme before paying for a test.

Ques. What is the realistic total cost for an Indian applicant?

Ans. September 2027 tuition is unpublished, so INR 71.34 Lakhs to INR 85.01 Lakhs is only a prior-cycle planning illustration. It includes referenced fees, living costs, selected visa charges and the required trip, so verify target tuition before borrowing.

Ques. When should an applicant prepare for the September 2027 MBA intake?

Ans. The international deadline is 30 April 2027, and the file should be complete by then because the application includes references, a career roadmap, academic records and a video link. Prepare the documents before the deadline rather than relying on a later round.

Ques. Can this MBA support post-study work in Canada?

Ans. An eligible 24-month master’s graduate may qualify for a post-graduation work permit of up to three years. The permit, later employment and permanent residence each have separate conditions, so none is guaranteed by admission.


Important Alert

  • Application Deadline For September 2027 Intake - Apr 30, 2027

Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
Tuition Fees$16981 (CAD 24258)

Other Expenses

HeadAvg Cost Per Year
Room And Board$9326 (CAD 13323)
Total Cost$9326 (CAD 13323)

Previous Year Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
2024$24431 (CAD 34902)
2023$21063 (CAD 30090)
2021$27532 (CAD 39331)

Important Dates

EventApplication Date
Application Deadline For September 2027 Intake Apr 30, 2027

Scores Required

4.5 / 6

Avg. Score in

TOEFL

6.5 / 9

Avg. Score in

IELTS

65 / 90

Avg. Score in

PTE

5.0 / 9

Minimum gpa

GPA

183

Application Fees


Required Document List

Complete Application
Application Fee
Official Transcripts
English Language Requirements
Completion of secondary school


Ranking

202520242023202220212020

QS World University logo
Business 501 out of 650 in Global Ranking
( #21 out of 44 in Canada 2025)
( #16 out of 44 in Canada 2025)

Times Higher Education logo
Business 401 out of 990 in Global Ranking
( #11 out of 29 in Canada 2025)

Do you think the Rankings are wrong ?  Report Here


Career and Placement after Course

The careers after graduation are:

  • Sustainability consultant roles
  • Supply chain and logistics roles
  • Director of Compliance roles
  • Management roles in industries focused on sustainability
  • Engineering roles
  • Human resources roles
  • Director of sustainability roles


Comments


No Comments To Show

Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids

NameScholarship Per StudentLevel of StudyType
Victoria University Future Leaders ScholarshipScholarship per studentVariable AmountLevel Of StudyBachelorTypeCollege-Specific
Business Administration ScholarshipsScholarship per studentVariable AmountLevel Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
University of Montreal ScholarshipsScholarship per studentVariable AmountLevel Of StudyBachelorTypeCollege-Specific
VueVille Future Technology ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 700/Yr$1,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Go Clean ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 2,450/Yr$3,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Bharat Petroleum ScholarshipScholarship per studentVariable AmountLevel Of StudyMasterTypeMerit-Based

Similar Programs

ProgramImportant DateTotal FeesMedian Exams ScoreAction
--
USD 20,759 /Yr
CAD 29,656 /Yr
  • TOEFL: 92
  • IELTS: 6.5
  • Duolingo: 125
Application Deadline for Fall Intake (1st Mar 2027)
USD 8,252 /Yr
CAD 11,788 /Yr
  • TOEFL: 5
  • IELTS: 6.5
Application Deadline For Spring 2027 Intake (31st Jul 2026)
USD 31,746 /Yr
CAD 45,351 /Yr
  • TOEFL: 4.5
  • IELTS: 6.5
  • PTE: 65

Do you think the Dates are wrong ?  Report Here

Videos

interested in this College ?

Get free counselling